By NewsDesk  @infectiousdiseasenews

New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced an additional 11 COVID-19 cases in the state– 8 in Westchester County and 3 in Nassau County.


“I’ve said every day the number of confirmed cases of novel coronavirus will keep going up, and as we expand our testing capacity we will only see that number continue to rise,” Governor Cuomo said. “We want to keep testing and finding more people who are testing positive because that’s how you contain the outbreak – find the person who got infected, quarantine them and reduce the infection rate.”

The 44 cases breakdown is a s follows: Nassau County: 4, Rockland County: 2, New York City: 4 and Westchester County: 34.

Got Smallpox?

The Governor also announced travel insurance companies and travel agents will offer New York residents and businesses the ability to purchase coverage when making travel plans that would allow them to cancel a trip for any reason, including for reasons related to COVID-19.