By NewsDesk  @bactiman63

The Peru Minister of Health, Hernando Cevallos, announced Sunday the declaration of a health emergency in 15 regions of Peru due to an outbreak and imminent risk of a dengue outbreak.

Image/Robert Herriman

“Dengue is advancing, so the central level decided to declare 51 districts of the country in emergency, in addition to providing the necessary resources for the regional health directorates and care units to take the appropriate measures to protect the population”, he noted.

The legal norm establishes the declaration of emergency in 51 prioritized districts of the departments of Piura, San Martín, Loreto, Huánuco, Junín, Cajamarca, Cusco, Madre de Dios, Ayacucho, Lima, Amazonas, Ucayali, Pasco, Tumbes and Ica. The measure has a term of 90 days and will allow the prevention and control of this disease to be implemented.

The National Center for Epidemiology, Prevention and Control of Diseases (CDC) of the Minsa reported that 36,200 cases of dengue were registered in 2021 to date, presenting an increase of 42.6 percent compared to the same period in 2020.

The departments of Piura, Ica, San Martín, Loreto, Huánuco, Junín, Ucayali, Cajamarca, Amazonas and Madre de Dios account for 82.2 percent of cases nationwide.

Health officials have also reported 27 dengue fatalities to date.

Bolivia: Nearly 7 million people have been vaccinated against COVID-19

Yellow fever in the Americas: Brazil, Peru and Venezuela

Measles in the Americas: Confirmed cases in Brazil and the US

Venezuela: Yellow fever cases reported in Monagas State, according to NGO