NewsDesk @bactiman63

The Florida Department of Health reports 260 total monkeypox cases in sixteen counties through July 22.


Broward County, in the southeast part of the state, has recorded nearly half the cases with 129.

The rest of the affected counties include: Miami-Dade (70), Pinellas (13), Orange (12), Palm Beach (8), Monroe (8), Hillsborough (5), Polk (3), two each in Collier, Duval, Lee and Seminole counties and one each in Alachua, Lake, Santa Rosa and Sarasota counties.

Nationally as of July 22, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported 2,891 total confirmed monkeypox/orthopoxvirus cases from 43 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.

Avian influenza reported in Seminole County, Florida backyard flock

Eastern Equine Encephalitis cases in Florida rise to 9, Latest horse from Marion County

Florida: Port Charlotte teen battles brain-eating amoeba, Naegleria fowleri, according to media report

Florida: 1st local dengue fever case of year reported in Miami-Dade County

Florida: Giant African Land Snails in Pasco County, What is rat lungworm?