By NewsDesk  @infectiousdiseasenews

In a follow-up on the COVID-19 situation in Japan, the state of emergency has been extended until September 12, according to local media (computer translated).


In addition to Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa, Osaka and Okinawa prefectures, seven more prefectures were added to the emergency declaration–Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Shizuoka, Kyoto, Hyogo, and Fukuoka.

Priority measures such as spread prevention will be newly applied to 10 prefectures of Miyagi, Yamanashi, Toyama, Gifu, Mie, Okayama, Hiroshima, Kagawa, Ehime and Kagoshima. The deadline is September 12th, including the six prefectures of Hokkaido, Fukushima, Aichi, Ishikawa, Shiga, and Kumamoto that are already being applied.

The nationwide number of serious COVID-19 patients hit a record high 1,603 on Sunday, up 40 from the previous day and renewing a record for the fourth straight day, according to the health ministry. They include people in intensive care units and those on respirators or life support.

About 37% of Japan’s population is fully immunized, with the government seeking to provide shots to all those who want them by November.

Japan has recorded nearly 307,000 COVID-19 cases in just the past month, including 430 deaths.