NewsDesk @bactiman63

In early May 2022, officials in Kenya detected cholera in Kisumu County and through the end of the month, a total of 319 cases and two deaths were reported.

Image/Robert Herriman

While Kisumu County is the epicenter of the outbreak, accounting for some 97 percent of cases, the outbreak has spread to Nairobi and Kiambu counties.

In Nairobi, cases have been reported from five sub-counties out of the 17 for the city: Mathare, Starehe, Kamukunji, Westlands and Roy Sambu.

According to the World Health Organization, Kenya joins the list of three other countries, South Sudan,
Tanzania, and Somalia, in the East African sub-region that are experiencing ongoing outbreaks of cholera. No epidemiological linkage has yet been established between the ongoing cholera outbreak in Kenya and its neighboring countries.

Subscribe to Outbreak News TV on YouTube

However, the sub-regional context calls for enhanced collaboration across the affected countries to prevent transborder transmissions resulting from mass population movements across national borders.