In a follow-up on the Lassa fever outbreak in Nigeria, nineteen new confirmed cases were recorded from seven States– Edo (3), Ondo (7), Bauchi (2), Nasarawa(1), Ebonyi(2) Kogi(2) and Taraba(2) with six new deaths in confirmed cases from four states Ondo (2), Edo(1), Bauchi (2), and Nasarawa (1), according to the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC).

Nigeria map/CIA

From 1st January to 11th February 2018, a total of 615 suspected cases, and 57 deaths have been reported from 17 active States- (Edo, Ondo, Bauchi, Nasarawa, Ebonyi, Anambra, Benue, Kogi, Imo, Plateau, Lagos, Taraba, Delta, Osun, Rivers, FCT and Gombe).

Since the onset of the 2018 outbreak, 197 cases have been classified as: 193 confirmed cases, 4 probable cases with 47 deaths (43 in Lab confirmed and 4 in probable). 75% of all confirmed cases are from Edo (45%) and Ondo (30%) states.

Fourteen Health Care workers have been affected in six states –Ebonyi (7), Nasarawa (1), Kogi (1), Benue (1), Ondo (1) and Edo (3) with four deaths in Ebonyi (3) and Kogi (1).

A total of 1641 contacts have been identified from 11 states and 1388 are currently under follow up.