By NewsDesk  @infectiousdiseasenews

The Philippines Department of Agriculture (DA) reports a decline in African Swine Fever (ASF) cases.

“The incidence of ASF is waning, as blood samples of suspected hogs that tested positive are down to 147, as of August 2021,” said Agriculture Secretary William Dar, adding that “ASF incidence is down to only 24 barangays, in 16 cities and municipalities.”


Since mid-2019, the ASF virus has affected hog farms in 2,981 barangays, in 579 cities and municipalities, mostly in Luzon, according to the DA’s Bureau of Animal Industry (BAI). The incidence peaked in August 2020, with 1,773 positive samples, said BAI Director Reildrin Morales.

“To date, 484 cities and municipalities have no reported ASF cases for at least three months, of which 74 have no reported cases for three to six months, and 410 have no cases for more than six months,” Morales added.

For his part, DA Undersecretary for Livestock Dr. William Medrano said “due to stricter surveillance and monitoring efforts, we are gradually winning the fight against ASF.” These include setting up of biosecurity measures that both commercial and backyard raisers must employ.

“As a result, we have greatly reduced the incidence of ASF — the outcome of our strong partnerships with the LGUs, hog raisers, private sector, veterinary groups, and the academe,” added Medrano.

“Another bright spot is the current testing of a vaccine against ASF in ten commercial hog farms in Luzon, and we will announce the initial results by the end of August,” Secretary Dar said.

ASF has been reported in the following areas since the first outbreak started on July 2019: Abra, Albay, Apayao, Aurora, Bataan, Batangas, Benguet, Bulacan, Cagayan, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Cavite, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental, Eastern Samar, Ifugao, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Isabela, Kalinga, La Union, Laguna, Lanao del Norte, Leyte, Masbate, Misamis Oriental, North Cotabato, Northern Samar, Nueva Ecija, Nueva Vizcaya, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Quezon, Quirino, Rizal, Sarangani, Southern Leyte, Sorsogon, Surigao del Sur, Samar, Tarlac, Zambales Provinces and Metro Manila (Caloocan, Malabon and Quezon Cities).