By NewsDesk  @bactiman63 

Philippines officials announced the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) approved on Friday the temporary suspension of inbound flights from South Africa, Botswana, and other countries with local cases or with the likelihood of occurrences of the new B.1.1.1529 coronavirus variant.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

This includes Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Mozambique, which are adjacent to South Africa and Botswana.

The order is effective immediately and until December 15.

New COVID-19 variant, B.1.1.529, detected in South Africa

The Bureau of Quarantine, in close coordination with local government units, has been directed to locate travelers from the abovementioned countries who may have arrived in the recent seven days prior to the temporary suspension of inbound travel.

These travelers shall be required to undergo full 14-day facility-based quarantine with reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test on the seventh day or upon location of the passenger, whichever is later, with the date of arrival as the first day.